Are you in need of an Andover workers’ compensation attorney?
Andover is a city in Anoka County, Minnesota. Andover is part of Minnesota’s Anoka-Hennepin School District 11. Schools within Andover’s boundaries include Andover Elementary School, Crooked Lake Elementary School, Rum River Elementary School,Oak View Middle School,Andover High School. The annual city celebration is the Andover Family Fun Fest, held near the beginning of July on and around the grounds of City Hall, Andover Elementary School, and Sunshine Park. Events include a 5K fun run, a street dance, a parade, and a fireworks show.
Following a work-related injury, you may need to find a top Minnesota Andover workers compensation lawyer. This may be the first time you ever needed to speak to a Andover work comp lawyer or any Minnesota attorney. You have questions – How much will it cost, how do I get treatment, and do I get compensation for my disability? Finding the best Andover work comp lawyers near you may seem like a difficult task. Jerry Sisk and Mottaz & Sisk are here to help.
Andover Lawyer – Minnesota Workers’ Compensation
Call 855-354-COMP or 855-354-2667 to speak with Jerry Sisk a top Minnesota Andover workers’ compensation injury lawyer or fill out the contact form and Mottaz & Sisk will contact you immediately. It’s free with no obligation. Let the best Minnesota workers compensation injury attorneys help you.
Andover Employees Entitled to Workers’ Compensation
AM I COVERED BY WORKERS’ COMPENSATION?
Minnesota has strict workers’ compensation laws in that all employers must provide this insurance even if they have only one part-time employee. And most people who perform paid services for another are considered employees — even minors and non-citizens – – though some types of workers are not automatically covered, such as independent contractors. Lastly, injuries that are caused, aggravated, or accelerated by employment activities are covered by workers’ compensation insurance. A Andover work injury attorney can help.
WHAT SHOULD I DO AFTER A WORK INJURY?
When you have an on-the-job injury it can be anything from a cut, strain, fracture, etc. For most employees when they have a work-related injury, they don’t know what to do. It can become a very complicated and stressful situation. Consequently, it is a good idea to know what your injured workers’ rights are under Minnesota Workers’ Compensation law. Here are a few helpful tips.
- Report your Injury Right Away
- If you’re sick or hurt, you should get medical attention and tell your supervisor within 14 days of the injury or illness. You risk losing your benefits altogether if you don’t give notice to your employer within 180 days and give good reason for the delay. After you’ve missed three days of work, your employer then has 10 days to submit a first report of injury or illness to their insurance company who must either deny your claim or begin making payments.
- Get Medical Treatment
- If you have been hurt on the job, the first thing you should do is seek emergency medical attention. Once you get medical treatment, you must be mindful of how you move forward. For example, when you go to see a doctor, you should immediately inform them that you are receiving treatment for a work-related condition. This way, the clinic or hospital will know to send the bill to your employer. It is also best to give your employer the name of the doctor and the address of the hospital that was used for treatment. In most cases, the employer will also request past medical records. They need this information to determine whether or not they will accept the claim.You have the right to choose who see. Keep in mind if an employer sends you to a doctor and you see that doctor twice, that doctor becomes the treating doctor. Therefore, make sure you choose your doctor wisely.
- Be prepared.
- We always like to believe that people and insurance companies will always do the right thing. Again, that is not always the case. In workers’ compensation, things can turn bad really quickly. In other words, an insurance company that has been paying bills and wage loss benefits can suddenly stop paying. It is important to have an understanding of what benefits are available to you and what your legal options are in getting those benefits. When an insurance company stops paying medical bills or benefits most of the time it’s not because they should be. Therefore, you should have a basic understanding of what benefits are available to you, and whether you may be potentially entitled to those benefits. In most cases, it is good to speak with an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer to again go over your options.
- Talk to a Andover Work Injury Lawyer
- Most Minnesota work injury lawyers in the State of Minnesota, including our office, provide free consultations. Knowledge is power. Although you have a lot on your mind talking to a knowledgeable and experienced attorney can be one of the best decisions you make. Education is so key, even if you wish this would all go away. Look out for yourself.
One small slip up in a workers’ compensation claim can lead to none of your costs being covered by your employer. There is never any obligation for you to sign up as a client but you should be able to get your questions answered. Our office is always happy to meet with potential clients either in person or over the phone to discuss their individual case.
Denied Work Comp Benefits
After the Employer and Insurer have been notified of a work-related injury, and the disability lasts longer than three days, the insurer is responsible for admitting or denying your claim. They must send out a Notice of Insurers Primary Liability Determination indicating the same.
- If accepted, they must pay benefits within the required time.
- If denied, they must explain to you why your claim is being denied.
Andover Workers Compensation Insurers are responsible for paying for the following benefits:
- Wage loss benefits, including temporary total, temporary partial and permanent total disability benefits.
- Permanent partial disability or benefits for functional impairment or permanent loss of function of a body part.
- Dependency benefits if a spouse or dependent dies from a work injury.
- Vocational rehabilitation benefits if you are found to be a qualified employee. This may include retraining.
- Medical care and treatment.
Statute of Limitations
In Minnesota, the amount of time that you have to file a workers’ compensation claim depends on two factors, including:
- Whether any benefits have been paid; and
- Whether a First Report of Injury has been filed with the Department of Labor and Industry.
If any benefits have been paid in the past, then the injured worker would be able to bring a claim at any time during the life of the claim. This means that an injured worker can bring a claim at any time for workers’ compensation benefits as long as those benefits continue to remain open.
If no benefits have been paid, then the question turns as to whether or not a First Report of Injury has ever been filed with the Department of Labor and Industry. If a First Report of Injury has been filed, then the injured worker would have three years from the date of injury to bring a claim. If the claim is not brought within those three years than the injured worker would be forever barred from bringing a claim. If a First Report of Injury has not been filed, then the injured worker would have six years from the date of injury in order to bring a claim.
What will it Cost to Meet with a Andover Workers Compensation Attorney?
There is no cost to meet with our office to discuss your workers’ compensation case. We do not charge a fee unless you retain our office and we are able to recover benefits on your behalf. This means if you retain our office and during the life of your claim we do not recover any disputed or new benefits, you will not owe us anything. This means that we will monitor your case and make sure to advise you on important issues.
Minnesota workers’ compensation attorney fees are handled on a contingency basis. No fee is owed unless we are able to recover additional workers’ compensation benefits or a settlement. Before October 1, 2013, attorney fees would be paid on a contingency basis of 25% of the first $4,000 and 20% thereafter. After October 1, 2013, dates injuries, the law changed to 20% of workers’ compensation. In the case that there is no money paid directly to you, whether it be wage loss, permanency or a settlement, and in a situation where we recover medical or rehabilitation benefits on your behalf, we are allowed to have the insurance company pay our hourly fees.
Insurance companies spend lots of money to hire defense lawyers to represent them. Hiring a Minneapolis work comp lawyer gets someone in your corner that understands the system and makes sure that no one is taking advantage of you.
Following a work injury, there is no bad time to meet with a workers’ compensation lawyer. All meetings are private and confidential. An attorney can help you with even the smallest of cases and assist in monitoring your claim and making sure there are no issues. Waiting until there are issues may not always be in your best interest.
Meeting with a Minnesota workers’ compensation lawyer for an initial consultation is free with no obligation to sign.
When to Contact a Andover Workers Compensation Attorney?
The Workers compensation law and the process can be difficult to understand. If you have been denied workers’ compensation benefits or need to discuss your Minnesota workers compensation case, Jerry Sisk is a Andover workers’ compensation attorney that helps people with Minnesota work injuries anywhere in MN.
Jerry Sisk is an expert disability Andover workers’ compensation attorney with over 15 years of experience in work comp.
Jerry is a St. Paul top Minnesota attorney that can help answer your questions including:
- How can a workers compensation attorney help me?
- Why hire a Minnesota work comp lawyer and your firm?
- How does workers’ compensation pay you?
- How do I hire a work comp lawyer to represent me?
- What work comp benefits are available to me including wage loss and medical?
- How much does it cost to get a lawyer?
- What can I expect if I hire a lawyer?
- What is the value of my work comp case?
- How long will work comp pay?
- Should I take a worker’s compensation settlement?
Jerry Sisk is dedicated to making sure you get the disability benefits you are owed. He will be your advocate throughout the process. Call him now at 855-354-2667 or fill out the contact form and his office will contact you immediately. We don’t set any time limits on the conference, and often times we are more than happy to meet with you as long as need be. We offer in-person as well as over-the-phone consultations.
Hospitals and Clinics serving Andover, MN
Fairview Clinic – Andover -13819 Hanson Blvd NW, Andover, MN 55304
HealthPartners Riverway -15245 Bluebird St NW, Andover, MN 55304